Ruling party loses seats in by-election - Pakistan | Eurasia Diary -

23 April, Tuesday

Ruling party loses seats in by-election - Pakistan

Politics A- A A+
The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party lost three national and five provincial assembly seats in Sunday's by-election, according to official results announced Monday.
The by-election was held on seats vacated by winning candidates in the general election held in July.
Results announced by the election body said the PTI and opposition Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) party won four seats each. The Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid party retained its two seats. The five-party religious alliance Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) won a seat from Bannu in northwestern Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province which had earlier gone to the PTI.
In the provincial assembly, the PTI secured 11 seats, PML-N seven, Pakistan People's Party two, Awami National Party two and independent candidates won three.
The ruling party also lost its five provincial assembly seats in Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa provinces.
Former Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and former Railway Minister Saad Rafique, close aid of former premier Nawaz Sharif, had lost their seats in the general election. However, this time they won their seats from Lahore.


Report a mistake by marking it and pressing Ctrl+Enter

EurasiaDiary © Must be hyperlinked when used.

Follow us:
Twitter: @Eurasia_Eng
Facebook: EurasiaEng