Snap parliamentary elections kick off in Ukraine on July 21 | Eurasia Diary -

20 January, Monday

Snap parliamentary elections kick off in Ukraine on July 21

The polling stations will be open from 8:00 until 20:00

Politics A- A A+

Snap parliamentary elections started in Ukraine on Sunday, July 21, 112 International reports.

The elections to the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine take place every 5 years on the last week of October. The regular elections would be normally scheduled for October 27, 2019.

However, on the day of his inauguration, the newly-elected President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelensky disbanded the parliament and proclaimed snap parliamentary elections. The main reason for this he named low level of trust of the people to this Verkhovna Rada.

The Central Election Commission registered such parties for participation in the parliamentary elections 2019:

  1. Opposition Bloc Party

  2. Strength and Honor Party

  3. Batkivshchyna (Fatherland) Party

  4. Patriot Party

  5. Power of People Party

  6. Opposition Platform – For Life Party

  7. Party of Greens of Ukraine

  8. All-Ukrainian Union Fakel

  9. Samopomich Party

  10. European Solidarity Party

  11. Ukrainian Strategy of Groysman Party

  12. Civil Position Party

  13. Social Justice Party

  14. Servant of the People Party

  15. Power of Law

  16. Oleh Lyashko Radical Party

  17. Party of Shariy

  18. Holos Party

  19. Independence Party

  20. Agrarian Party of Ukraine

  21. All-Ukrainian Union Svoboda

  22. Movement of New Forces of Mikheil Saakashvili

The parties will be in this order in the voting paper.

The Central Election Commission (CEC) of Ukraine has created 199 district election commissions for the early parliamentary elections.

Report a mistake by marking it and pressing Ctrl+Enter

EurasiaDiary © Must be hyperlinked when used.

Follow us:
Twitter: @Eurasia_Eng
Facebook: EurasiaEng